Menu Close
Andy Unseth
ELL K-2nd Grade Teacher
Sahra Abdisalan
Classroom EA
sabdisalan@stepacademymn.org
Fadumo Mohamed
Classroom EA
fmohamed2@stepacademymn.org
Abdulkani Nur
Classroom EA
anur@stepacademymn.org
Bilad Ibrahim
Kindergarten EA
bibrahim@stepacademymn.org
Adar Ywswf
STEM
aywswf@stepacademymn.org
Brandon Mortenson
PE
bmortenson@stepacademymn.org
Christina Smith
Fifth Grade
csmith@stepacademymn.org
Kara Hanson
Fourth Grade
khanson@stepacademymn.org
Trent Substad
Fourth Grade
tsubstad@stepacademymn.org
Hannah Treptow
Third Grade
htreptow@stepacademymn.org
Cara Fisher
Third Grade
cfisher@stepacademymn.org
Katie Strand
Second Grade
kstrand@stepacademymn.org
Amelia Davis
Second Grade
adavis@stepacademymn.org
Jessica Rames
First Grade
jrames@stepacademymn.org
Aleshia Weiss
Kindergarten
aweiss@stepacademymn.org
Linda Prince
College Readiness
lprince@stepacademymn.org
Malcolm Currie
ELA/Social Studies 6
mcurrie@stepacademymn.org
Sydney Jones
MS ELA
sjones@stepacademymn.org
Ellyn Thompson
MS/HS Reading Intervention
ethompson@stepacademymn.org
Omar Fiqi
ES Math Intervention
ofiqi@stepacademymn.org
Jacob Norwick
ES Math Intervention
jnorwick@stepacademymn.org
Darlah Krug
ES Math Intervention
dkrug@stepacademymn.org
Billie Stensby
ES Reading Intervention
bstensby@stepacademymn.org
Kristen Holsten
ES Reading Intervention
kholsten@stepacademymn.org
Frank Straub
ES Reading Intervention
fstraub@stepacademymn.com
Mohamed Mohamed
SPED Para
mmohamed@stepacademymn.org
Hassan Yussuf
SPED Para
hyussuf@stepacademymn.org
Yasmin Hussein
Secondary SPED
yhussein@stepacademymn.com
Mariah Gavin
Secondary SPED
mgavin@stepacademymn.org
Freedom Hunt
Secondary SPED
fhunt@stepacademymn.org
Abdiqadir Mohamed
Secondary SPED
amohamed@stepacademymn.org
Mari McDonald
HS Biology/Life Science
mrobinson@stepacademymn.org
Emma Olson
SPED Coordinator
eolson@stepacademymn.org
Shantana Smith
SPED Para
ssmith@stepacademymn.org
Said Ibrahim
Behavior EA
sibrahim@stepacademymn.com
Jude Vales
Assistant Dean of Students
jvales@stepacademymn.org
Kathryn Martin
Dean of Students
kmartin@stepacademymn.org
Suado Moalin
Administrative Assistant
smoalin@stepacademymn.com
Edward Davis
ELL 3-5th Grade Teacher

Ed and his family have lived in St. Paul for 20 plus years.  He enjoys the smaller-town feel of the city.  In addition to teaching, Ed likes working/playing in the outdoors and remodeling projects.

edavis@stepacademymn.org ‪(612) 444-1025
Mahdi Elmi
Math
melmi@stepacademymn.org
Jaimie Vogel
Kindergarten
jvogel@stepacademymn.org 1110
Rani Hayden
Dean of Instruction & ELL Coordinator
rhayden@stepacademymn.org
Sulekha Kilas
SPED Para K-5 Grades
skilas@stepacademymn.org
Toly Swenson
SPED 6-8th Grade Para
tswenson@stepacademymn.org
Maryan Moalin
SPED K-12 Grades Para
mmoalin@stepacademymn.org
Andy Tholen
Assistant Dean of Students Secondary
atholen@stepacademymn.org 1226
Nasra Dahir
MS Social Studies
ndahir@stepacademymn.org
Abirashid Hajir
Food Service Assistant & ELL EA
ahajir@stepacademymn.org
Fadumo Mohamud
Receptionist

I am as Dr Mustafa says “the face of the school” which is a title I hold dearly. I love the opportunity I get here at STEP Academy that is, to be the face that welcomes anyone who walks in. I get to see people on their first day with nervous voice to them joining the community we have here at STEP. I am an English Major and a creative writing minor at Metropolitan State University. I have been blessed enough to see so much at a young age. I love traveling, I love sports, and most of all I love helping others and I get to help others full time here at STEP Academy as a office staff member. I go by Fadumo or iido or as the kids refer to me as “aunti the office lady.”

fmohamud@stepacademymn.org 1120
Rahima Sheikh Omar
MS ELL
rsheikhahmed@stepacademymn.org
Nawal Sheikh Omar
First Grade
nsheikhomar@stepacademymn.org 1109
Anisa Ali
Arabic & Office Support
aali@stepacademymn.org
Awhil Omar
Secondary SPED
aomar@stepacademymn.org 1106
Sadiq Mohamud
Security & Transportation Coordinator
smohamud@stepacademymn.org
Chris Welter
Physical Ed. & Health Teacher

The thing that I really enjoy about working at STEP Academy is the sense of community and teamwork that is present in the staff members, faculty, and students.  What drew me to become an educator was the enjoyment that I had when I first started coaching sports.  Being a source of positivity in someone’s life is something that I look forward to everyday and something that I hope I can be for a long time.  When I am not teaching I enjoy running, hiking, biking and really just being outside as well as staying in and watching my favorite sports teams (Vikings, Twins, and Oklahoma University).

cwelter@stepacademymn.org 1226
Keeley Tholen
Assistant Academic Dean
ktholen@stepacademymn.org 1225
John Ritchart
HS Science
jritchart@stepacademymn.org 1213
Luke Olson
HS Math

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls with a degree in secondary education in math with a coaching minor.  I enjoy the students’ willingness to help each other learn at STEP.  I integrate STEM into teaching every day! Math is 25% of STEM!  I don’t remember exactly what made me decide to be a teacher, but I am happy I am doing it.  Outside of school I do woodworking and home remodeling.

lolson@stepacademymn.org 1212
Wayne Nelson
HS ELL
wayne@stepacademymn.org 1104
Ahmed Mursal
Assistant Director of Operations
amursal@stepacademymn.org 1119
Traci Moore
Academic Dean
tmoore@stepacademymn.org 1220
Mohamed Mohamoud
Community & Parent Coordinator
mmohamoud@stepacademymn.org
Ali Balagot
MS Math

I graduated from MNSU Mankato in December 2016.  Before becoming a full time teacher I was a full time student at MNSU Mankato, and I was an intervention teacher at Cottage Grove Elementary School for a few months.

I love the environment and the people at STEP, as the teachers are all great & the students are always keeping me on my toes!  We incorporate many different technology resources to better understand the world through math!

Ever since I was a little girl I always dreamed of being a teacher and helping students LOVE learning as much as I did as a kid!

amanning@stepacademymn.org 1205
Mustafa Ibrahim
Director

I am the school director at STEP Academy.

mustafa@stepacademymn.org 1107
Hannah Samuelson
HS Social Studies
hhenley@stepacademymn.org 1207
Noelle Heinzen
Kindergarten
nheinzen@stepacademymn.org 1112
Mitsy Harbeck
Elementary/Secondary SPED
mharbeck@stepacademymn.org 1001
Megan Crawford
Fifth Grade

My favorite thing about working at STEP is the students. My students have such interesting, unique stories to tell and are always ready with a joke. I became a teacher to inspire a love of learning in my students and continue my own learning.

mcrawford@stepacademymn.org 1103
Zinat Chowdhury
MS Science
zchowdhury@stepacademymn.org 1204
Jessica Chapman
M.S. ELA
jchapman@stepacademymn.org 1202
Marwa Borghol
Secondary Arabic
marwa@stepacademymn.org 1208